what does this mean

bluemike

what does this mean
« on: 15 Nov 2008, 02:25 pm »
Yesterday I finally got my tt running and noticed that when I played a song my woofers in both speakers would vibrate quite a bit ..something they don't do when I play digital

I also realized that my project phono is missing it's jumpers
Does the high Gain cause the speakers woofers to react that way
i'm currently using a denon 160 with a rega RB300

I'm new to Vinyl and wanted to get some input from the experts

macrojack

• Restricted
Re: what does this mean
« Reply #1 on: 15 Nov 2008, 02:39 pm »
My first thought is feedback. If the table is not isolated from external influences (including the woofers) the stylus will pick up on the vibrations and your system will amplify them through your speakers.

The other possibility is distortion if you are overdriving your preamp with too much gain from the high output phono pre. I'm not familiar with the phono pre you have so I can't say whether missing jumpers are the cause.

Analog is pretty simple. You just have to fix a couple of early glitches and you'll be on your way to fun and fetish.

Wayner

« Reply #2 on: 15 Nov 2008, 03:36 pm »
Is it hum, like 60 cycle or do your woofers go in and out kind of slow when the record is playing?

If it's the later, you are witnessing "wow" which is usually caused by a warped record. The stylus is picking up low freq mechanical movements. The platter or outside platter ring may not be seated either (not knowing what table you have). This low freq "wow" or rumble can be filtered out with a low freq filter if your preamp or receiver has one, or check your table for mis-alignment of the platter.

Wayner

Paul Hynes

• Industry Participant
    • http://www.paulhynesdesign.com
« Reply #3 on: 15 Nov 2008, 04:07 pm »
Hi Pat,