My new VR4 SR MKIIs arrived yesterday..

es347

• Facilitator
  • ..I've got my eye on you...which one you say?
My new VR4 SR MKIIs arrived yesterday..
« on: 23 Oct 2008, 12:52 pm »
Luckily my neighbor, much younger than me and in possession of a good back, helped my stove truck them down an outside stairway to our basement.  The setup was pretty effortless with the exception of those small rubber pads that we couldn't find a place for (thanks Scott!).  Oh my, the appearance....that gloss black...the speaker jacks...lustful to put it mildly. 

I have been listening to Logans for 12 years now so that was my reference and must admit that right out of the box, the resolution and speed was pretty close.  The one thing I noticed sonically was a very apparent imbalance between the bass and treble/midrange.  The bass was dominant and somewhat bloated.  But after some repositioning wrt to the front wall and 5 hours or so of burn-in, things started sounding decidedly different.  The bass calmed down a few dbs and things became much more listenable...make that very listenable.   The biggest difference between the VR4s and my MLs is the soundstage.  It's huge with the VR4s and that was something I have longed for since the MLs were never capable of throwing what I would call a big soundstage.  They were great in between the speakers but nowhere beyond.  I've got that now and it's truly mesmerizing.  This whole quest started with an audition of the watt puppy 8s and hearing that speakers are actually capable of a big soundstage.  The Wilsons did that but I was under the impression that the size of the soundstage varied directly with the price.  Enter VSA speakers, specifically the VR4 SR MKIIs.  I'm not going to diss the Wilsons as they are very nice speakers but for nearly $30K, they should be.  I truly feel sorry for those folks out there who pony up the big bucks for the puppies without having heard the VR4s, or for that matter, the folks who buy the Maxx without hearing the