WTB: Devore Gibbon 9 or Super 8

tvad4

WTB: Devore Gibbon 9 or Super 8
« on: 7 Jun 2007, 06:14 pm »
Looking for a used or demo pair of Gibbon 9 or Super 8. Original boxes and packing a must. I have already contacted my "local" dealer. Any leads are appreciated.

My Castle loudspeaker adventure has gone up in flames. First pair were delivered with damaged cabinets due to insufficient packing, and replacement pair were delivered with a faulty woofer. Discontinued model, so another replacement is not possible. I've decided to move on.

« Last Edit: 8 Jun 2007, 02:00 pm by tvad4 »

Vinnie R.

• Industry Contributor
    • http://www.vinnierossi.com
Re: WTB: Devore Gibbon Super 9 or Super 8
« Reply #1 on: 7 Jun 2007, 06:56 pm »
Hi tvad4,

You'll love either of those DeVores, but go for the Nines if you can  aa

Good luck with your search!

Vinnie

toobluvr

Re: WTB: Devore Gibbon Super 9 or Super 8
« Reply #2 on: 8 Jun 2007, 02:16 am »

I have no experience with the larger DeVore floorstanders, but I just LOVE my Gibbon 3 monitors.  Teamed with a Blue Circle BC-24 in the bedroom, it produces a sound that is exquisitely nuanced, refined and musical.   

Based on this experience, I would seriously consider moving up the DeVore chain if I needed a larger speaker.

Good luck in your search!

mcullinan

Re: WTB: Devore Gibbon 9 or Super 8
« Reply #3 on: 8 Jun 2007, 02:01 pm »
Sorry for my ignorance(I am a circle newbie), but what does bump mean?
Mike

Also Good Luck with your Gibbon search!!!!

miklorsmith

« Reply #4 on: 8 Jun 2007, 02:41 pm »
It's a bump upside yo' head that Grant still needs you to find him some DeVores.

miklorsmith

« Reply #5 on: 8 Jun 2007, 03:28 pm »
Well, since you asked . . .  :D

mono sub vs. stereo bass - your call, there seems to be no consensus on this.

There's the school that says low bass separate from mains is inherently better, as mains can be positioned for vocal clarity and imaging, allowing subs to be placed where they work best.