DAC Comments in $1-2,000 Range

datahut

DAC Comments in $1-2,000 Range
« on: 25 Jan 2016, 03:45 am »
I'm new to the technology and offerings.  Tested the water buying a Musical Fidelity V90 ($300) to stream music files and Sirius radio from
PC to Presonus computer monitors.  But, to port to my Naim pre-amp/amp based system looking for suggestions, comments on
something in the $1-2,000 price range as a next step up.  Thanks!

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
Re: DAC Comments in $1-2,000 Range
« Reply #1 on: 25 Jan 2016, 04:34 am »
Hi. I've been researching DACs recently and have pretty much narrowed my list down to three models. They may or may not suit your needs, but go ahead and take a look at them. I guess my budget limit was $2k, but I really wanted to stay below $1500.

Nuprime DAC-10         $1495.......DAC-10H (headphone amp included) $1795
Schiit Gungir Multibit   $1249
Gustard X20               $866

It seems to me all three models use the Sabre ESS9018 chip. The major difference is the DAC-10 has just one while the other two models utilize two of the chips. There must be differences in how each company optimizes their DAC as well. I have yet to actually place any of these in my system, but I will rectify that upon my return to the States. [I'm in Taiwan currently.]

In my research, I have not found any reviews of all three by the same person, so it is very difficult to determine which is the best DAC for me without auditioning them. Nonetheless, here's what swims around in my head: