STA-9

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic. Read 90340 times.

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #120 on: 21 Jun 2016, 05:34 am »
yeah, but don't forget about 3 extra Power Cable.

I will have four indepent power supplies instead of one common.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #121 on: 21 Jun 2016, 11:29 am »
I will have four indepent power supplies instead of one common.

My air condition is connected to same wall socket as STA-9. Amp is whistling when AC is on.
So I'm also thinking about some regenerators.

maty

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1174
    • Nauscopio Scipiorum
Re: STA-9
« Reply #122 on: 21 Jun 2016, 02:00 pm »
Air conditioned -> add DC at mains. If your amp has a big toroidal (500VA or more)... hum and hot.

I have "tons" of DC (up to incredible 2.8Vdc - 50 Hz/230Vac in Spain) and RFI/EMI in my house but now I have resolved the problem  :D

The regenerators add more noise. And the power conditioners do not have a DC blocker (only is optional in one model).

Trust me, before buying expensive devices first you must solve your problems with power mains.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #123 on: 21 Jun 2016, 04:28 pm »
I'm waiting second STA-9 but for the moment no date of delivery.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #124 on: 21 Jun 2016, 04:38 pm »
You can order the preamp with XLR-outputs.

Eric, how will you describe Hattor Pre Amp for transparency?
Which model do you have?

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #125 on: 23 Jun 2016, 08:52 pm »
Eric, how will you describe Hattor Pre Amp for transparency?
Which model do you have?
In my opinion the Hattor pre amp is open and transperant.
I have the "cheapest" version.


Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #126 on: 24 Jun 2016, 04:46 pm »
Is it ok to place one STA-9 on top of another STA-9?
No risk the items get to hot?

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #127 on: 24 Jun 2016, 05:02 pm »
Is it ok to place one STA-9 on top of another STA-9?
No risk the items get to hot?

Don't stack one on another one, footers will be melted and then Jason will punish you on public.  :rotflmao:

If seriously - not good idea. It's rather hot.

by the way - I will get tomorrow second STA-9.  :D

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #128 on: 24 Jun 2016, 05:24 pm »


by the way - I will get tomorrow second STA-9.  :D

Looking forward to hear about it.
Will you use them as mono blocks or biamp?

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #129 on: 24 Jun 2016, 05:32 pm »
Looking forward to hear about it.
Will you use them as mono blocks or biamp?

For bi-amping I will need 4 amps. It will be overkill, my dealer will commit suicide.  :green:

To be clear - I took it for test and reviewing only.

Monoblocks. I tried to switch it on with 1 amp. It has great prospects, no doubts.

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #130 on: 24 Jun 2016, 05:33 pm »
Don't stack one on another one, footers will be melted and then Jason will punish you on public.  :rotflmao:


I also thought about melted footers, but then I found this picture at www.nuprime.com.




Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #131 on: 24 Jun 2016, 05:36 pm »
For bi-amping I will need 4 amps. It will be overkill, my dealer will commit suicide.  :green:

To be clear - I took it for test and reviewing only.

Monoblocks. I tried to switch it on with 1 amp. It has great prospects, no doubts.

You can biamp them with just two units. The sound is amazing!

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #132 on: 24 Jun 2016, 05:49 pm »
You can biamp them with just two units. The sound is amazing!

That's what I will do tomorrow.

I already started to jump on my coach from sit position. Coach also should be prepared for tomorrow's Act of Revellation. My neighbors still don't suspect anything.  :violin: :drums: :banana piano:

Actually I could control 4 channels from my AMR DP-777 but I need to resolder XLR connectors from his side.

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #133 on: 24 Jun 2016, 05:59 pm »
For bi-amping I will need 4 amps. It will be overkill, my dealer will commit suicide.  :green:

I don't get it.
First you say you need 4 amps for bi-amping and now you will bi-amp with 2 amps. Did I misunderstand you?  :o

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #134 on: 24 Jun 2016, 06:04 pm »
I don't get it.
First you say you need 4 amps for bi-amping and now you will bi-amp with 2 amps. Did I misunderstand you?  :o

We didn't understand each other.

I will connect 2 bridged amps to 2 speakers. By 1 pair of speaker cables.

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #135 on: 24 Jun 2016, 08:54 pm »
We didn't understand each other.

I will connect 2 bridged amps to 2 speakers. By 1 pair of speaker cables.

Edit: Double post.

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #136 on: 24 Jun 2016, 09:11 pm »
We didn't understand each other.

I will connect 2 bridged amps to 2 speakers. By 1 pair of speaker cables.

As far as I know you can't have a bi-amp connection with 2 bridged STA-9. If you use bridged STA-9 you need 4 of them to have a bi-amp connection.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #137 on: 25 Jun 2016, 02:31 pm »
It bravely passed through the dark night from capital city towards South.   :green:


Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #138 on: 25 Jun 2016, 02:32 pm »
Twins are ready for job.


Armaegis

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 826
  • slumming it between headphones and pro audio
Re: STA-9
« Reply #139 on: 25 Jun 2016, 06:10 pm »
What are those little stringy wires coming out of the back?