STA-9

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 85051 times.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #100 on: 17 Jun 2016, 06:19 pm »
:duh: :duh: :duh:
You are not using our original feet
 :evil: :evil: :evil:

And I am not using stock original power cable too.  :D

audioguy213

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 203
Re: STA-9
« Reply #101 on: 17 Jun 2016, 06:35 pm »
how does it sound?
Does it justify the fancy feet and PC?

mresseguie

  • Volunteer
  • Posts: 3299
  • D Sachs amp/pre + Daedalus Audio Speakers = HEAVEN
Re: STA-9
« Reply #102 on: 17 Jun 2016, 06:39 pm »
:duh: :duh: :duh:
You are not using our original feet
 :evil: :evil: :evil:

 :rotflmao:

Poor Jason.

If you send me all your different amps to audition, I promise to use only stock feet and stock power cords.  8) 8) 8)

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #103 on: 17 Jun 2016, 06:59 pm »
how does it sound?
Does it justify the fancy feet and PC?

I connected Power Amp to my System only 7 hours ago.
Too early for serious talks regarding Sound.

First impression - very positive. My System's Power Amp (T+A, model A1500) smokes bamboo.
But as I can hear - all symptoms of unburned device. So I plan to continue preparation.
Unfortunately my dealer gave it to me only for few days.
I am feeling great Tempation now.  :scratch:

I have already 2 remarks if Jason will be interesting, I can share it. Nothing serious by the way.

Re footers and Power Cable: 1) my first footers I made in December 2010. Since that time I didn't keep in hands
serious competitors fot my production. And - no, it's not just some kind of rubber.  8) 2) Power Cable - I am using for STA-9 top NeoTech cable. It's NEP-3001 MK3 3x5.25 OCC/SPUPOCC hybrid power cable with NeoTech NC-P303 OCC EU power plug Gold connectors. This combination showed excellent result with my Power Amp T+A. I don't see any sense to spent time in vain compairing with stock cable.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #104 on: 17 Jun 2016, 07:09 pm »
Cultural shock.

That's what I am feeling now.
It's second amp wtih Class D technology in my life.


Armaegis

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 826
  • slumming it between headphones and pro audio
Re: STA-9
« Reply #105 on: 17 Jun 2016, 07:18 pm »
At one point I was using cut up egg cartons for my feet, lol.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #106 on: 18 Jun 2016, 09:30 am »
At one point I was using cut up egg cartons for my feet, lol.

Any audiophile passed hard times in life.  :green:

maty

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 1139
    • Nauscopio Scipiorum
Better sound with a power cable => problems with RFI/EMI
« Reply #107 on: 18 Jun 2016, 09:44 am »
2) Power Cable - I am using for STA-9 top NeoTech cable. It's NEP-3001 MK3 3x5.25 OCC/SPUPOCC hybrid power cable with NeoTech NC-P303 OCC EU power plug Gold connectors. This combination showed excellent result with my Power Amp T+A. I don't see any sense to spent time in vain compairing with stock cable.

One day I wanted to check for myself, spending as little as possible (I was very skeptical, by academic training).

[Spanish] https://nauscopio.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/cable-de-redalimentacion-de-haiviech-netzkabel-ultimative-silber-mit-kupfer-silberkontakten/

To English -> https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=es&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=es&ie=UTF-8&u=https%3A%2F%2Fnauscopio.wordpress.com%2F2013%2F07%2F24%2Fcable-de-redalimentacion-de-haiviech-netzkabel-ultimative-silber-mit-kupfer-silberkontakten%2F&edit-text=

The improvement was there, I could not deny. Then I started a long learning process and I concluded that improvement was produced by RFI / EMI attenuation so I decided it was better and cheaper to use professional solutions to solve my problem.

Schaffner RFI/EMI filters first and then with Würth 150 kHz ferrites too.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #108 on: 18 Jun 2016, 11:55 am »
On Peter Gabriel 2002 "Up" I never heard such bass from my speakers.   :thumb:

Armaegis

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 826
  • slumming it between headphones and pro audio
Re: STA-9
« Reply #109 on: 18 Jun 2016, 04:07 pm »
Any audiophile passed hard times in life.  :green:
Well before that it was a cut up toilet paper roll... but switched to the egg cartons for aesthetics  :lol:


Actually the whole thing was because the mono amps were running hot and I needed more space between them when stacked.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #110 on: 18 Jun 2016, 04:13 pm »
I have plan to come on US market with my footers etc.  :green:

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #111 on: 20 Jun 2016, 05:52 am »
A couple of days ago I changed from using my STA-9 as monoblocks to use them in a bi-amp setup. The sound is much better, but I miss the extra power from the monoblock connection. So now I plan to buy two more STA-9. The idea is to use all four as monoblocks - two for each channel.
Any one here who has tried that and can give some feedback?

mresseguie

  • Volunteer
  • Posts: 3299
  • D Sachs amp/pre + Daedalus Audio Speakers = HEAVEN
Re: STA-9
« Reply #112 on: 20 Jun 2016, 06:05 am »
Eric,

Considering the cost of four STA-9 amps, have you considered trading up to a single Nuprime K-38 amp? Talk to John or Jason about this idea. I suspect you'd be floored by what it can do.

Michael

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #113 on: 20 Jun 2016, 09:36 am »
A couple of days ago I changed from using my STA-9 as monoblocks to use them in a bi-amp setup. The sound is much better, but I miss the extra power from the monoblock connection. So now I plan to buy two more STA-9. The idea is to use all four as monoblocks - two for each channel.
Any one here who has tried that and can give some feedback?

That's what I'm thinking now - 4 monoblocks in prospects.

What Pre Amp will you use to drive 4 channels?

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #114 on: 20 Jun 2016, 06:19 pm »
Eric,

Considering the cost of four STA-9 amps, have you considered trading up to a single Nuprime K-38 amp? Talk to John or Jason about this idea. I suspect you'd be floored by what it can do.

Michael

It has crossed my mind to go for a K-38, but still four STA-9 is cheaper then one K-38. At least here in Sweden.

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #115 on: 20 Jun 2016, 06:23 pm »
That's what I'm thinking now - 4 monoblocks in prospects.

What Pre Amp will you use to drive 4 channels?

The preamp is from Hattor Audio in Poland. www.hattor.com
It's a passive preamp with a separate tube active stage.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #116 on: 20 Jun 2016, 08:30 pm »
The preamp is from Hattor Audio in Poland. www.hattor.com
It's a passive preamp with a separate tube active stage.

Thank you! It's not for me, I need XLR outputs. For the moment I put my eye on 2 models - McIntosh C52 and Ayre KX-5 Twenty.

Eisener Bart

Re: STA-9
« Reply #117 on: 20 Jun 2016, 08:31 pm »
It has crossed my mind to go for a K-38, but still four STA-9 is cheaper then one K-38. At least here in Sweden.

yeah, but don't forget about 3 extra Power Cable.

opnly bafld

Re: STA-9
« Reply #118 on: 20 Jun 2016, 09:45 pm »
The preamp is from Hattor Audio in Poland. www.hattor.com
It's a passive preamp with a separate tube active stage.


Thank you! It's not for me, I need XLR outputs. For the moment I put my eye on 2 models - McIntosh C52 and Ayre KX-5 Twenty.

The Hattor passive is available with XLR in and out.

Eric Gustafsson

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 67
Re: STA-9
« Reply #119 on: 21 Jun 2016, 05:31 am »
Thank you! It's not for me, I need XLR outputs. For the moment I put my eye on 2 models - McIntosh C52 and Ayre KX-5 Twenty.

You can order the preamp with XLR-outputs.