Bryston SP3 - cracking piece of kit!

ragg987

Bryston SP3 - cracking piece of kit!
« on: 27 Apr 2013, 11:50 pm »
I have been using the SP3 for 4 months now, so thought it worth posting some feedback and observations, plus some suggestions for improvements.

Bottom line
The SP3 is the best sounding stereo preamp and surround processor I have owned for audio quality, brings a smile to my face every time I listen to music or watch movies. Well thought out features geared towards simplicity, however a few more setup options would be very welcome.

Set-up
The SP3 is in my main AV system, I use it 50/50 for music and video. Rather than listing my equipment (see profile if interested), let me focus on how I have set it up.

For stereo music, I tend to use 2.2 setup. The mains are set to small with 2 subwoofers in stereo mode, crossed over at 80Hz.

For video, I use multi-channel mode in a 5.2 configuration. Mains and surrounds are set to small and the 2 subwoofers are in stereo mode, crossed over at 80Hz.

The mains and surrounds are a conventional setup through the SP3, however the stereo sub-woofers are connected through the Aux-L and Aux-R outputs of the processor. I use the controls on the sub-woofers to set their cross-over, and to tune the delay (phase) and gain.

The subs have a single channel parametric equalizer which I have used to tame a nasty room mode at about 35Hz, giving me a relatively even response from about 15Hz upwards. I have boosted the volume at the sub by about 5dB (like a house curve - http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/rew-forum/96-house-curve-what-why-you-need-how-do.html), which gives very satisfying bass without being overkill.

I arrived at these settings through a slow process of trial-and-error combined with careful measurement and listening over a period of about 2 months. Measurements were made with a sound meter and microphone using the free Room EQ Wizard and a laptop to measure and analyse in room response.