Favorite 2a3 Tubes

ebag4

Favorite 2a3 Tubes
« on: 29 May 2011, 07:41 pm »
Hey guys, now that I have built my Bottlehead 2a3 amp I am now in the (what I am sure will be the never ending) hunt for a 2a3 tube that will float my boat the best!  Of course the answer is different for each person and system but I would still like to know which tubes you liked and didn't like.  Lets try to keep this to SET designs, no push-pull, that will keep the power issues on an even playing field.  Amplifier type, driver and speaker sensitivity is a bonus!  Since I am new to SETs and the 2a3 in particular, my amp only has 50 hrs on it and is still breaking in, I dont really have anything to offer, but please let us know what you hear!

Thanks,
Ed

Nels Ferre

Re: Favorite 2a3 Tubes
« Reply #1 on: 29 May 2011, 07:55 pm »
Depends on what you want to spend. I have in my preamp, and have been told that the standard Shuguang 2A3C is a very good tube at approximately $130 a pair.

Upmarket from that is the Shuguang Treasure Series 2A3. I have not tried them yet, but plan to.  I've also read RCAs from the '40s are excellent as well.

Jon L

« Reply #2 on: 29 May 2011, 09:43 pm »
and have been told that the standard Shuguang 2A3C is a very good tube at approximately $130 a pair.

Upmarket from that is the Shuguang Treasure Series 2A3. I have not tried them yet, but plan to.  I've also read RCAs from the '40s are excellent as well.

Shuguang is very nice for the money, but ultimately one *needs* EML 2A3 solid plates, which has not moved from my Bottlehead ever since.

Pez

« Reply #3 on: 29 May 2011, 10:55 pm »
The Treasure 2A3 is pretty much the best I have heard, though I haven't really heard a lot of setups that us 2A3s I have heard a couple at RMAF that did and they were best in show IMO. I use the Treasures KT88s for low powered SET and they are by a wide margin the best I have heard. Being that we are using them in similar applications I would say go with the Treasure 2A3s.

Scott F.