Hiking the Grand Canyon

WGH

Hiking the Grand Canyon
« on: 29 Mar 2011, 08:55 pm »
I have been hiking for over 20 years to keep my endurance up and weight down but one place I haven't been is the Grand Canyon even though I live in Tucson. Coming up in the beginning of April a few friends and I will hike the canyon. We're doing a combination sightseeing and endurance hike going down the South Kaibab Trail and up the Bright Angel Trail in a day. Why in a day? Because we can. Yes we really are in that good of shape, I've logged 40 miles over the last 3 weekends, my hiking buddy Kathy got a few more in at 50 miles.

Has anyone else hiked the canyon?

Wayne

ted_b

• Volunteer
  • "we're all bozos on this bus" F.T.
Re: Hiking the Grand Canyon
« Reply #1 on: 29 Mar 2011, 09:23 pm »
Yes, I've hiked it a few times.  The first was back in college (mid seventies) and we did South Rim Kaibab to bottom, had lunch we carried in, then hiked back up.  Holy !!!!  Was a huge mistake in that we were not hikers, our legs were on fire, and we paid for it for like 2 weeks......but we did it.  :thumb:  Many of us (like 4 out of 6) lost that lunch coming back up the Kaibab btw.   :icon_frown:

Suffice it to say the remaining times we visited and hiked it we were much more educated on the right way to see the Canyon.  One year we stayed at Phantom Ranch and came back up in the morning.  On the way up though we threw the frisbee at a large plateau'd area and a buddy got a cactus thorn right through his knee.  Ouch!    Youth is wasted on the young.   :D

werd

« Reply #2 on: 29 Mar 2011, 09:40 pm »