Newbie to separates, needs interconnect advice

trackball02

Newbie to separates, needs interconnect advice
« on: 11 Feb 2011, 01:09 am »
I’m soon to be a proud owner of an Avastar and Ultravalve, which is replacing my Linn Classik integrated CD receiver. Right now, my only RCA interconnects are those throw aways that come with my TV and DVD player and are nothing special. I’ve been reading a lot of opinions of interconnects on-line, and quite frankly a lot of it sounds like snake oil. Can anyone give me advice on something sensible, great sounding and reasonable cost?  I’m a complete novice when it comes to cables.  My other equipment includes a new pair of Zu Soul Superflys (fantastic speakers, still not broken in) and an old set of Monster Cable Z2 reference speaker cables. Eventually will complete my system with a DAC (not sure which one) and get my old Harman Kardon T-60 turnable running again. Thanks!

Tom Alverson

Re: Newbie to separates, needs interconnect advice
« Reply #1 on: 11 Feb 2011, 04:03 am »
Your new Avastar and Ultravalve are not sensitive to the cables used.  You just need something that makes good contact, as some cheap interconnects can have poor plating on the contacts or undersized pins.  Any decent cables, especially with gold or silver plated contacts will work fine.  Some users here like the "Blue Jeans Cables" which use good quality but not exotic wire and connectors.

http://www.bluejeanscable.com/store/audio/index.htm

trebejo

« Reply #2 on: 11 Feb 2011, 04:17 am »
These folks do cabling for music studios and the like. Good for custom lengths, connectors, etc.

http://redco.com/

They follow the prime directive--i.e. correct cabling at sane, correct pricing.

Art_Chicago

« Reply #3 on: 11 Feb 2011, 04:28 am »
hey trebejo

Nice Kasparov avatar!

As for the cables, +1 for BlueJeans.

trebejo

« Reply #4 on: 11 Feb 2011, 04:52 am »
Nice Kasparov avatar!

Here's the rest of the picture  :lol:

Brett Buck