Open baffle vs sealed sub

django11

• Canuckistani
Open baffle vs sealed sub
« on: 13 Jan 2011, 04:56 pm »
I picked up a mfw15 woofer and an SA1 amp from GR Research.  At first I slapped something together quickly in an open baffle style.  Great, great sound with music but I was hoping for something with more output to complement movies so I made a 20x20 sealed enclosure.  Now I can shake the house but I like it considerably less for music.  Would this be a common experience for those of you who have heard both?  Or did I do something wrong building the enclosure  (Which is braced BB plywood with a constrained layer and stuffed with fiberglass)?

I enjoy all types of music but tend to listen to more jazz, acoustic, folk, classical music.

mcgsxr

Re: Open baffle vs sealed sub
« Reply #1 on: 13 Jan 2011, 05:00 pm »
What you describe tends to mirror my own experience.

I have been running OB bass (a 12 inch woofer per side) for around 5 years now.  The bass is very musical, but in my room lacks impact.

As I recall, an OB woofer produces roughly 25% of the bass of a sealed woofer, so that tends to be the trade off.

As for the construction description of your box, it sounds well built and braced etc, so unless the specs of that particular woofer are not meant for sealed applications, I am not sure what else to say.

I run a ported 12 for my HT in another system.  Not that musical.  Buildings blow up real good though!

django11

• Canuckistani
« Reply #2 on: 13 Jan 2011, 05:06 pm »
The Dewalt track saw is about to come out and I'll just cut this puppy in half...  Any pics of your ob sub

edit: I think I saw them in your gallery...

mcgsxr

« Reply #3 on: 13 Jan 2011, 06:35 pm »
I have run different configurations of OB subs.

I currently use them on large winged flat (ish) baffles.

I have considered a move to U baffles, and have run H baffles in the past too.

What Xover and slope are you using both for OB and sealed?

TRADERXFAN