Keep My Preamp?

Mass. Wine Guy

Keep My Preamp?
« on: 15 Oct 2010, 04:42 am »
I know what good sound is but I don't know a lot about the technical side, so I'd be grateful for opinions on my preamp, a Morrison ELAD. I have little experience with other preamps, but to me the Morrison is dead quiet and extremely neutral in terms of anything it introduces to the system. My amp is an Adcom GFA 535, which I think I should hold on to (but I'm open to corrections about this).

I just bought a used pair of Silverline Minuet speakers off Audiogon, which haven't been shipped yet.

Thank you.

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
Re: Keep My Preamp?
« Reply #1 on: 15 Oct 2010, 06:35 am »
The Morrison is not the weak link in your system, but your Adcom is, unfortunately.  Those silverlines are low sensitivity (that's how they get all that bass from a small speaker), so you might want to look at a refined, but "big" amp.  Maybe Classe, Odyssey, or (my favorite), audio-gd.

poseidonsvoice

• Science is not a democracy - Earl Geddes
    • 2 channel/7 channel setup
« Reply #2 on: 15 Oct 2010, 11:11 am »
Tyson is right. On top of that, you mind want to look into a power amp that isn't too hot on the top, or be very careful with placement in the room. Your room furnishings will probably help in absorption to mitigate the top end, but try not to overly toe in these speakers. Even averaged across a 30 degree window, there is a frequency response irregularity at around 3kHz. The true sensitivity is 85dB @ 2.83V. Minimum impedance is about 5 ohms. Even a robust 60 watt tube amp can help, although its difficult to advise without knowing your budget. The measurements tell it all as seen here. Regardless for a small system and in the proper context, I can see one having fun with this speaker. I used to own a similar monopole about 1 year ago.

Best of luck,

Anand.

Mass. Wine Guy

« Reply #3 on: 15 Oct 2010, 11:52 am »