Sound stage?

neyloj2

Sound stage?
« on: 8 Sep 2010, 06:31 am »
Greetings all, newbie here. Why is that some of my jazz records sound as if the saxaphone sound is coming from behind my rack and some records the sound is coming directly from the speakers. Diana Kralls vocals come from behind the rack too. I sit near field, equalateral triangle 6ft. I have Jolida 801A with all the mods, Scoutmaster w Van den Hul mc10 and Quad IIL's toed in slighty. I have ATS 24x48 on wall behind speakers and some diy foam at first reflection. My room is dedicated 10x20x9 wood floor with throw rug. You can see my room in "Systems" under neyloj2. Penny for your thoughts.....John

FullRangeMan

• Volunteer
  • To whom more was given more will be required.
    • Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a straycat or dog. On the street they live only two years average.
Re: Sound stage?
« Reply #1 on: 8 Sep 2010, 06:42 am »
Greetings all, newbie here. Why is that some of my jazz records sound as if the saxaphone sound is coming from behind my rack and some records the sound is coming directly from the speakers. Diana Kralls vocals come from behind the rack too. I sit near field, equalateral triangle 6ft. I have Jolida 801A with all the mods, Scoutmaster w Van den Hul mc10 and Quad IIL's toed in slighty. I have ATS 24x48 on wall behind speakers and some diy foam at first reflection. My room is dedicated 10x20x9 wood floor with throw rug. Penny for your thoughts.....John
Hi,
Some vinyl and SACDs really have deep soundstage. The sound engineer on the mixing desk can move the musical instruments sound on the virtual space between the two speakers and more far, with the panpot control (panoramic).
Iam sure there is experts on this subject on this site and they can explain more in detail.
Regards, Gustavo

>Never go to a psychiatrist, adopt a cat or dog from the street. On the streets they live only two years average.

jimdgoulding

« Reply #2 on: 8 Sep 2010, 06:55 am »