Please help me to decide an entry level tube Amp

kwatch

Please help me to decide an entry level tube Amp
« on: 3 Aug 2010, 02:57 am »
I'm new to tube Amp. I'm looking for an entry level tube amp on limited budget.  I have decided that MiniWatt N3 Tube Amp http://www.aloaudio.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=420 and
JV5 Tube Amp / DAC/ Headphone Amplifier http://www.aloaudio.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_4&products_id=374 are good choice.  Which one has a better over all performace? Could anyone recommend other tube amps having a similar price range?  I'm planning to use these in my bedroom.

Thanks.

cujobob

Re: Please help me to decide an entry level tube Amp
« Reply #1 on: 3 Aug 2010, 03:11 am »
A common starting place for a good tube amp has been the Onix SP3 which can be purchased used for about $400.

doorman

« Reply #2 on: 3 Aug 2010, 03:50 am »
Used Decware SE84's/cs's come up for sale regularly.
They are in another league from most budget amps, IMHO
Good Luck with your search!
Don

Hugh

• Industry Participant
    • Angel City Audio
« Reply #3 on: 3 Aug 2010, 03:59 am »
+1.

It is a great little tube amp for the price.

And it is way below my cost and that is why I decided not to bring it back to The US.
A common starting place for a good tube amp has been the Onix SP3 which can be purchased used for about $400.

Wind Chaser

« Reply #4 on: 3 Aug 2010, 06:29 am »
Used Decware SE84's/cs's come up for sale regularly.
They are in another league from most budget amps, IMHO

When properly matched with appropriate speakers the Decware is very serious high end.  It's hard to comprehend how anything so modest and kit like with so few watts can sound so big and clean.

lonewolfny42

• Speakers....What Speakers ?
« Reply #5 on: 3 Aug 2010, 06:54 am »
What speakers will you be using ?

bside123

« Reply #6 on: 3 Aug 2010, 08:58 am »