powered 'pro' speakers for two-channel ///yes or no!

Huck

Hi; Just wondering if anyone here are using powered speakers for their two-channel setup, as I heard the other day just one RCF Art 315-A which has a 15" driver and 1" tweeter,with 300 watts for the woofer and 50 for the tweeter and the dealer had the clipping light flashing and man was it loud,that was just one speaker! I am tempted to buy two of these for two-channel listening, but not sure if the I-pod out or my c.d. player output would be enough to drive these speaks to a good volume without some kind of mixer or pre-amp,obviously I am not a technical listener, or I would be going with something more refined. Any comments,or which powered speaks you have heard that sound good for a  stereo rig?! Thanks,Keith

batmanslc2

Re: powered 'pro' speakers for two-channel ///yes or no!
« Reply #1 on: 29 May 2010, 06:09 pm »
I have been using quad 12L active for a few years and LOVE them.  There are a number of good choices like audioengine that are active (powered) , I do use a good pre-amp (musical fidelity a3cr)

Russell Dawkins

« Reply #2 on: 29 May 2010, 07:22 pm »
Huck -  if you are looking for dynamics over that last modicum of refinement, and you may be, this is for you:
http://tinyurl.com/36zejvt

See these threads:

http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=73429.0
http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=65255.0
http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=56837.0

(I searched "unity Danley")

Huck

« Reply #3 on: 29 May 2010, 08:04 pm »