beginner looking at N3, can I use PE 1.0 box?

BYOB

beginner looking at N3, can I use PE 1.0 box?
« on: 6 May 2010, 03:06 pm »
Hello all,
Monkeypimp is killing me with his excitement about the N2, now I want some. My room is larger, 18X20 so I have been looking at larger speakers. N3 is high on my list but I am not good with wood. diyspeakercabinets.com is an option but they seem busy, the easy path is PE as it looks like their .5 box is popular for N2. Can I do a sealed 1.0 box with the N3 kit or is this just crazy talk? I think this would look nice on some simple stands but do not want to impact the sound too much. I am planning to use my MFW15 with this setup.
Cheers.

ebag4

Re: beginner looking at N3, can I use PE 1.0 box?
« Reply #1 on: 6 May 2010, 03:28 pm »
The N3 is a transmission line speaker which means there are divisions within the enclosure that direct the sound to a terminus on the back of the enclosure, so no, you can't use the PE box for that.  However Danny has also designed a sealed version for use as a center channel, but it could also be used as mains.  I believe it is a sealed enclosure, so assuming the volume of the PE box is the same you could build it.  The N3S would require the use of your sub.

edit:
Here is a link to the drawings:
http://www.gr-research.com/pdf/Neo3S.pdf

It appears that the volume is .639 cuft.  You would need an enclosure close to that, you can always reduce an enclosure's volume by glueing in wood blocks or the like.  You will also want to keep the front baffle the same width, 8" in this case.

Best,
Ed

monkeypimp

« Reply #2 on: 6 May 2010, 05:22 pm »
Hello all,