Compare 4BSST to 14BSST2

cascais

Compare 4BSST to 14BSST2
« on: 10 Nov 2009, 04:09 pm »
I have been using a 4BSST since 2003 with great success but now the seven-year itch is setting in and I am considering an upgrade. Being inclined to stick with Bryston and also using a BP26MC preamp, I think that a 14BSST2 would be a logical step up. Since I live in Europe where the price of these components is astronomical, I would ask Mr Tanner and others with experience what they think the audible difference between the 4BSST and 14BSST2 might be. My speakers are PSB M2 monitors which might be a factor with the even more powerful amp.

vegasdave

• My online rock magazine-Crypt Magazine
Re: Compare 4BSST to 14BSST2
« Reply #1 on: 10 Nov 2009, 07:37 pm »
I just wanted to say great system!

Viajero5000

« Reply #2 on: 10 Nov 2009, 09:11 pm »
I have been using a 4BSST since 2003 with great success but now the seven-year itch is setting in and I am considering an upgrade. Being inclined to stick with Bryston and also using a BP26MC preamp, I think that a 14BSST2 would be a logical step up. Since I live in Europe where the price of these components is astronomical, I would ask Mr Tanner and others with experience what they think the audible difference between the 4BSST and 14BSST2 might be. My speakers are PSB M2 monitors which might be a factor with the even more powerful amp.

Hi there, I can't comment on 4B-SST to 14B2, but I did move from a 4B-ST to a 14B and would not go back to a 4B.  Although it was a good amp, I found the 4B-ST a bit harsh in the upper mids and the bigger issue in my system was that i was analysing my music more than connecting to it emotionally.  The 14B was smoother through the mids and a bit sweeter, so I could sit back and enjoy the music instead of analysing the cd. It's certainly a massive investment here in Europe so as always you need to listen to it at home before buying.

WBimmer

« Reply #3 on: 11 Nov 2009, 12:05 am »