A n00b with questions

johnjen

A n00b with questions
« on: 4 Nov 2009, 07:34 am »
Ok so I've been hip deep in the audio-filic world for a while now but I'm new to VMPS and I'm doing some preliminary research.

I have a small house and I am considering one flavor or the other of RM30's.  I will probably spring for the combo deal with a bunch of the tweaks that are offered. 

But my question really revolves around what to power them with.  I don't really need LOTS of power due to the small listening room but I also don't want the amp to 'work hard' just playing at 'normal' (slightly elevated) levels either.

I have been intrigued with the design of the ARCAM AVR600's power amplifier section.  Has anyone tried this combination? Of course the rest of the do-dads will be turned off since I have no need for them.  And thus far it appears that the power amp section has not been cleaved out of the 600 and made available as a separate power amp, yet.

Any thoughts good or bad?

I am familiar with tubes (their +'s and -'s) but trying to get at least 150 real watts (or more) out of tubes, while possible is an expensive proposition, not only in initial cost, but in maintenance as well.  Buying sets of 8 (or more) matched output tubes can take a big bite out of ones wallet.  But the sound is definable preferable to most of the SS designs (thus my intrigue with the AVR600's amps)

Thanks for any and all insights and suggestions.

JJ

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
Re: A n00b with questions
« Reply #1 on: 4 Nov 2009, 01:09 pm »
It's important to have enough watts, so that the amp has a commanding grip on the speakers.  Here's how to roughly calculate what you need:

Start with the rated speaker efficiency, say 88 dB/w/m.

Next estimate room gain/loss.  In a 2,000 cu. ft. room it's pretty much a wash (assuming two channels).  Tiny rooms could add 3 dB, huge residential rooms could subtract say 6 dB.  Let's figure your room is a 0 dB gain.