Another new Piccolo (well almost)

taskerc

Another new Piccolo (well almost)
« on: 25 Jan 2009, 03:47 am »
Well, it took Canada customs a while for them to release my Piccolo from their grip, but I finally received it this week - so of course I began my Piccolo build, being as impatient as I am.  Having built the Cornet2, I was very jazzed to get this MC amplifier as I have been messing around with a Cinemag step-up for about 6 months without success on the hum - close but no cigar.  And since this was my second Cinemag attempt, I thought surrender and then found the Piccolo.

Well, this kit is different as it has far more intensive soldering.  Not more difficult, but more requiring heat sinks and that nasty little IC and voltage regulator.  Considered using a socket for the IC, but the kit did not ask for one and Jim's pictures showed no socket, so I assumed the "stick to the plan" approach and braved it.  After a bunch of work, in which I really should have stopped, I completed the board populate and soldering after about 4 hours - must get new soldering iron tip now .....