The NOS issue bugs me, help please

matanoosh

The NOS issue bugs me, help please
« on: 8 Jan 2009, 12:28 am »
Hi all. I'm a newbie here, from a far away foreign country.
Just had the Isabellina at home for an audition. Very impressive DAC indeed. Unfortunately I had nothing to compare it to in its price range.
Although extremely musical and pleasant, there's one thing that keeps coming back when I think about making the decision to purchase:
I can't understand why choose a NOS chip for the d2a conversion. I'm not trying to be over-technical here, no sir. I'm merely a listener, not an engineer or even a technician. But I'm chasing my own tail trying to explain to myself the purchase of a brand new DAC which is based on a two-decade old technology, even though it DOES sound wonderful.

Ok, so some people might say: "if it sounds good why don't you buy it? this the only thing that mattes after all". But.. I'm afraid it's not so simple for me. We can take 5 or 6 dacs based on the same chip, and they all sound completely different. Not just different, but one can be much better than the other. Hell, my friend just built himself a NOC dac with an array of several chips together (I think it was 8) working parallely. He wanted to sell it for $500 (and indeed, it sounds 25% of the Isabellina's performance :)). But why choose an old chip, especially all the rest is so well thought of and implemented (inputs, power supplies, analog outputs, filters etc)? I just don't understand it and I don't have anyone here to explain this to me.

So even if a Wadia sounds like a computer and not a music maker, it does have "state of the art" technology. Is it really impossible to build a musical dac based on modern-day technology?

What am I missing?

... I just wish I could buy Isabellina and be happy with it :).

-Matt

richidoo

Re: The NOS issue bugs me, help please
« Reply #1 on: 8 Jan 2009, 12:40 am »