What is the best way to make wood figure gain depth?

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
I have my LS9 cabinet cut out and ready to apply pomelle sapelle veneer. This is unbacked and a vacuum bag will be used.  This is really pretty stuff, so I want to take my time and make this show the grain to the max.  But.... I've never done anything this big before.  What are your recommendations in stains (I'm leaning to a light orange) and finish? I have a local that can use a spray rig for multi coats of laquer for a reasonable price. Is this one of the better options?

EARGASM

• No thanks.
Re: What is the best way to make wood figure gain depth?
« Reply #1 on: 19 Dec 2008, 05:06 am »
Removed by member.
« Last Edit: 25 Sep 2009, 04:24 pm by EARGASM »

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
« Reply #2 on: 19 Dec 2008, 05:53 am »
Well, sounds like gobs of fun to me! Nothing like really going for it right out of the gate! Yee haw! :thumb:

On an LS-9, I'd likely try to stain in two or three steps, then tone to the final finish. Alot has to be accounted for, though. The color of the natural veneer, uniformity of your flitch, the way the log was sliced. Hows the figure, pomelle you say? How dense? There is quite a lot of figure.Are you book matching?I was, but it sounds like it's a bad idea on Sapele
Sapele can be really sweet, but when you book match it, the light reflects in the opposite direction, so slip matching is probably best. It comes pretty wide, so you aren't splicing, right? Actually, I am going to have to splice three peices together :( Each strip is only about 8" wide