Pocket sized point & shoot digital, with zoom

BobM

Pocket sized point & shoot digital, with zoom
« on: 1 Jun 2008, 01:17 am »
I have a Nikon Coolshot 4300 that I've been using for a pocket camera for several years now, but it's just way too slow and not flat enough to just stick in a pocket. This will be the main camera for my wife and kids so the shooting will be almost completely automatic, with no manual overriding that I can imagine.

So I'm looking for something new that has the following features:

- non digital zoom lens (it can  digitize on the extreme zooms)
- quick shutter response, like an SLR
- both a digital display and an eye viewfinder (so I can see my subject in bright light)
- built in flash
- point & shoot autofocus
- reasonable pixel size - but doesn't need to be 10mp
- flat enough to fit in a pocket or purse easily

Thanks for your recommendations,
Bob

giantsteps

Re: Pocket sized point & shoot digital, with zoom
« Reply #1 on: 1 Jun 2008, 01:25 am »

I like the Panasonic DMC-TZ5. I think it fits your needs ...AND .. it has wide angle - 28mm equivalent. A fun camera with respectable optics, light and fits in your pocket. Read the reviews.

Frank

Danberg

« Reply #2 on: 1 Jun 2008, 02:25 am »
I liked the reviews of Canon Power Shot SD870 IS.  I plan on getting one, as I have always had good luck with Canon products.  I also like the 28mm wide angle feature, a little difficult to find but quite practical for a point & shoot camera.  The image stabilization feature could be helpful, as the smaller cameras are difficult to hold still at times, giving blurred photos.

I'd suggest that you do research at "Digital Camera Resource Page".  They give very through reviews, show actual images (both still & video) taken with the cameras, give detailed specs, etc.  If you are not into all of that, they give a "summary" at the end of the review, listing the what they "liked" and "disliked" about the camera reviewed.