Speaker kits? Recommendations? Where to go next?

Brik

Speaker kits? Recommendations? Where to go next?
« on: 13 Mar 2007, 09:33 pm »
Hello - I am a woodworker and am looking for suggestions for a speaker kit. I do not want the boxes, just a box design, and the appropriate guts.

I currently have a pair of Polk Monitor 5s and a decent paradigm sub. Current amplification is Adcom 555 200wpc. I want to add a center and 2 more speakers for the time being.

This is for HT only.

My ultimate goal is to add a Adcom 5503 (3x200) amp and an appropriate pre-amp. For now I have a 5.1 100wpc receiver for HT.

So - I need recommendations for a decent, low cost, kit that includes a cabinet design. I would like to stay under $300, or so, for the center and LR speakers. I also want a suggestion as to whether to use the builds or the polks as my mains.

I may end up upgrading in the future but for now want the biggest bang for my limited budget.

I can solder and figure out decent instructions but want a kit that someone has figured out the best combinations of parts. I'm not interested in building all the electronics unless it will provide a significant savings.

I notice a lot of manufacturers here. Feel free to reply with your own product recommendations. I may, or may not, have already been to your web site. The "Swifty" kits at Media sound seem like they would fit my budget. What else should I consider? The GR stuff is a little more than what I want to spend. Will the GR kits sound that much better for HT?

Suggestions? THANKS

Brian

2gumby2

Re: Speaker kits? Recommendations? Where to go next?
« Reply #1 on: 13 Mar 2007, 10:36 pm »
GR Research would be my first choice in HT speakers. I would also recommend that you take a look at Pi Speakers (www.pispeakers.com). I built some of their 2 Pi Towers and they sound great. I will be using them in a HT setup when I move to my new apartment next month.

Brik

« Reply #2 on: 13 Mar 2007, 10:59 pm »
Thanks for the input!