Phono loading report

analog97

Phono loading report
« on: 1 Dec 2006, 04:21 am »
I was asked to report on my findings having built that "T" loading device as suggested by Amandarae.  I have a Rega P3-2000/Denon 103/Denon 1:10 SUT/Cornet2/Clarinet combo.  I soldered 2, 13K 1/4 watt resistors as detailed by Amandarae.  This, according to JH's "calculator"  results in 102 ohms. I had been listening to the 470 ohm loading for over 8 months.   Here is what I heard, of course, subjective reporting only.....no "testing equipment" used.

1.  102 ohms seems to have reduced "surface noise" significantly.  The noise floor seems to have been lowered.
2.  102 ohms seems to have produced an interesting change in the high treble.  This is hard to describe, but the highs now seem "cleaner and clearer".......e.g. cymbals are not exaggerated and somehow seem to be heard with less fatigue on the ears.  I find I definitely prefer this "new" sound, not that the "old" was bad.   
3.  it seems that my amp is now working a tad harder to produce the same volume level.  This seems pretty strange to me, but I'm convinced of this.  This is subtle and not a problem as I have plenty of power.
4.  most of all, the cumulative effect of all of these changes was to deepen my soundstage and just somehow make things sound more even and more musical (words can be pretty bad, eh?)

I am convinced of these changes, but have absolutely no scientific...i.e. electrical understanding of why these changes occurred.  My reason for doing this was that of curiosity and I'm glad I did.  This was one rewarding "tweak" and I thank Amandarae and others for their help, pictures and advice.

amandarae

Re: Phono loading report
« Reply #1 on: 1 Dec 2006, 08:23 am »