Odyssey Nightingale Review

TjMV3

« on: 10 Mar 2005, 12:20 am »
It's been quite a few months since I received my Nightingales from Klaus,  about three and a half months to be exact.

Largely due to fire on our back porch,  I haven't been able to accomplish what I wanted to accomplish.  

Understand that this is not a best scenario experience with the Nightingales and it is rather incomplete and limited.   The gear I'm using is not ideal or my final choice to mate with the Nightingales,  but it's not bad either.  

JackStraw,  I'll try to address some of your questions. At least the ones I know something about.

At best,  this is just a some  Preliminary observations of what I heard with this particular set up.  I will do follow ups as time goes by and I get the gear in and set up the way I want it.

I'm not an expert,  so be kind if this doesn't come off too professionally. I'll do my best.

The Nightingales are a Downfiring Bass port design. Not rear ported.

They seem to do nicely at least 6 inches from the backwall.  But I haven't had time to experiment with getting closer or much further from the backwall.  They are 18 inches from the sidewall.

The System:  

NAD C542 CD Player

Hafler 101 Pre Amp (an oldie)

Parasound Halo A21 Amplifier  (with Groneberg Power chord)

Groneberg Interconnects all around.

Cobalt Ultimate Speaker cables w/locking banana plugs.

First Day:

I left the whole system with the power in the "On" position overnight and then put a CD on repeat and let it play in the Living Room for about 3-4 hours ,  while I was busy with work in the morning hours.  This really makes a difference for the NAD C542.  It plays smoother with more playing time and the power left on...all the time.  

I started with my " Paganini For Two-Gil Shaham/Goran Sollscher" CD.

I listened to about half of this CD.