Pondering getting into Vinyl

swisstrips

Pondering getting into Vinyl
« on: 25 Jun 2020, 04:23 pm »
I was originally going to ask "what to get for newbie" etc.. but thought I would ask something a bit different.  I have little to no experience with TT in the context of HiFi.  Like any other component in this hobby there is a ton of minutia to digest, research, ask all the same questions etc..  But I am genuinely interested to see/experience a good TT and sort of see what all the fuss is so to speak.  Ultimately great sound is what we are all after.

I had a cool (to me) mint Yamaha TT (P-520 I think) that I used very minimally (like a half dozen times) with a different rig I had at the time, but gave that to my daughter yrs ago so its been awhile and that is my only foray with TT.

I'm very heavily vested in my digital setup and my rig is pretty solid (pass XA mono's, Atma-Sphere MP3 pre (no phono), Revel Ultima Studio 2's, dedicated / treated room etc..  I don't stream though, and either rip CD's or buy the best digital version I can find and my library is pretty substantial.

The other conundrum that struck me, is besides the expense at getting started in this, is the expense of good albums (opposed to digital downloads/ripping CD's).  That and the small album collection I do have (from way back, maybe 20-40 albums) which are prob in crappy condition, the thought of now re-purchasing the vinyl equiv of the digital I have now (not all of course) seems a bit overwhelming in a way. 

So what to do?  I started looking at some TT and was like ooy, its one thing after another in so far as researching what might be a good purchase, new or used, brands, what's my budget, vintage, modern and all the accessories needed etc......that led me to here.