Rookie questions about BDP2 and Pi

Northman

Rookie questions about BDP2 and Pi
« on: 10 Dec 2019, 11:51 pm »
Hello! I've lurked here for a while and I now have a couple beginner questions. In fact, I posted my questions on another forum and was cheerfully told to pack my bags and head over here. Voila!

I'm new to digital music and my ignorance is impressive--but I'd like to take the digital dive. I'm interested in streaming (I have Tidal and perhaps eventually Idagio or Primephonic); maybe Roon; I also expect to use a hard drive with a range of music files, none of them obscure, many MP3s, AAC, Apple Lossless. That's it for now. No multiple rooms, no NAS, no DSD, just streaming and some music files.

I would like to prioritize: 1) audio quality, including Tidal MQA; 2) ease of use, in terms of the interface but also in terms of avoiding technical issues; 3) reliability--I know it's Bryston (I have a Bryston amp and preamp) but I'm going to ask about used equipment.

With all this in mind, I would greatly appreciate any advice about picking up a BDP. I can't afford a BDP3, so I'm looking at a used BDP2 (with or without the IAD upgrade) or a Pi (possibly used, possibly new). Based on my criteria, any thoughts? Specifically: does the BDP2 sound better than the Pi? Would a used BDP2, perhaps 6-7 years old, be outdated? How important is the IAD upgrade? Also, I've read somewhere that the Pi can't handle the Tidal MQAs but the BDP2 can--is that true? Finally, the Pi would be under warranty, the BDP2 likely not; how much should I care?

I'm not necessarily looking for answers to all these questions (though the mqa question might determine my direction), but I would greatly appreciate any thoughts on what people would recommend for a novice to digital music who wants the best sound possible with the fewest issues. If it were you, and you have degrees in literature but not computer science, which would you choose?

THANK YOU!

James Tanner

• Facilitator