A little Vinyl "CAUTION"

John Casler

A little Vinyl "CAUTION"
« on: 20 Nov 2004, 06:27 pm »
While I am not a vinyl expert, I do have a "lot" of history "spinning records" over the years, and my nature is to look to some of the physics involved.

I tend to remember "obscurities" that many forget or let slip by the wayside.

To that end, I thought I might mention a "drawback/caution" about vinyl playback that could be hepful in getting the best sound, and adding longevity to you records.

NEVER PLAY A CUT MORE THAN ONCE IN A 24 HOUR PERIOD :nono:

Why?

Because vinyl "deforms" when it is played, and it takes several hours for it to "rebound" back to its original shape.

That is, in the groove of the record, are microscopic variations in the walls that the stylus/tip encounter and respond to, creating the vibrations that eventually become sound/music.

Many of these "variations" are so small that as the stylus hits them they deform.  They bend over and the very tops of them may even stretch, like little hairs.  If (as some of us do) you are A/B'ing, or you just like a cut and want to hear it again, and you play it multiple times, the deformed areas deform even further and can stretch beyond recovery, or even be sheared off :(

Now this only happens to the weakest and most delicate of the particles, but generally those are the ones that give us the detail and high frequencies.

Light tracking forces and higher compliance stylii will reduce this potential damage, but not eliminate it.

So there you have it.  Double plays are really only good in Baseball, and not for playing your vinyl rig :wink:

Christof

A little Vinyl "CAUTION"
« Reply #1 on: 21 Nov 2004, 12:42 am »
Learn something new here every day.  Does this mean that room temperature is a player in the vinyl experience as well?

Ulas

Re: A little Vinyl "CAUTION"
« Reply #2 on: 21 Nov 2004, 01:19 am »
Quote from: John Casler