Newbie Needs Some Help - Don't Flame Me

zybar

• Volunteer
  • Dutch and Dutch 8C's…yes they are that good!
« on: 15 Nov 2004, 07:28 pm »
On another thread there was a discussion about replacing the outlets and wiring in a Monster power conditioner.

I would like to try and do this.

I just opened up the Monster and here are a few pics:

Question 1:

How do I disconnect the wire from the outlet?  The ground is attached via a screw, but the black/white wires are secured inside the outlet.

Question 2:

Which wire should be replaced?

Obviously I am totally new at this, but I would like to learn.  If there is a different place I should go, just point me there.

Thanks,

George

bubba966

« Reply #1 on: 15 Nov 2004, 07:40 pm »
This is an HTS3500? :scratch:

Doesn't quite look like mine.

It's hard to tell, but it looks like the wires are installed into the back of the outlet via the tension loaded rear wiring slots. If so, there should be a very small slot that you can insert a very, very small flat bladed screwdriver to release the tension on the wire as you pull it out.

I can't tell how the hot & nuetral wires are connected to the PCB. Can you tell how they're installed George?

In mine, they're just screwed to it. But my board looks a bit different than yours. I don't remember the revision of my HTS3500 though...

As far as which wire to replace, I just replaced the wiring hot/neutral/ground that was directly connected to the outlets. So that only involved the wiring between the PCB & the outlet as wel as the wire that was from the grounding screw to the outlets.

Dan Banquer

Monster Power conditioner
« Reply #2 on: 15 Nov 2004, 07:42 pm »
I have two questions for you.
Why are considering doing this?, and what do you hope to accomplish?
         d.b.
Not to worry: I'm not going to flame you.

bubba966

« Reply #3 on: 15 Nov 2004, 07:44 pm »