Looking at this mountain bike/thoughts?

stlrman

Looking at this mountain bike/thoughts?
« on: 5 May 2014, 11:30 pm »
https://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/bik/4420368795.html
Love the look of this bike. It's my size, I'm 5'3".
Mostly for paved trails. Maybe gravel trails. I was thinking of putting slicks or hybrid tires.
What's your thoughts. Price seems a bit high. Looks like it is from the year 2000, and went between $800-$1100.
Thanks,
Todd

Doublej

Re: Looking at this mountain bike/thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: 6 May 2014, 01:06 am »
I am no MTB expert but it looks like an outdated and perhaps short-lived frame design. I would not go near it. Plus for paved trails and gravel I am not sure there's much need for a full suspension bike.

I'd go for a new kick butt disc brake hydro foaming at the mouth 29er like this Airborne.

http://www.airbornebicycles.com/products/134-airborne-guardian-29er.aspx

or something from Motobecane or Trek or Specialized or one of the hundred other brands out there. REI seems to have a good selection this year. For example:

http://www.rei.com/product/865700/scott-aspect-950-29er-bike-2014

The good news is I am not sure there's much demand for a bike of that size so if you want it you might be able to get it cheap. Offer $150?

rockadanny

« Reply #2 on: 6 May 2014, 01:45 am »
No CD player or speakers?  :)

macrojack

• Restricted
« Reply #3 on: 6 May 2014, 02:41 am »
I also know not much about mountain bikes but my 21 year old son is somewhat of an expert. So I showed him the picture. At a glance he said hell no. That thing is a dinosaur. He said to spend your $400 on a used Kona hard tail.