Record clamps -- good idea?

greg7

Record clamps -- good idea?
« on: 11 Feb 2013, 09:39 pm »
I'm pretty new to vinyl and I'm pondering buying a record clamp for my recently-purchased Clearaudio Concept turntable. Clearaudio has two clamps that would be applicable (Concept and Twister). Before I go down this road, what are your thoughts and experiences with aftermarket clamps? The Clearaudio has a "hard" platter interface (POM material) rather than felt, cork, etc.

orthobiz

Re: Record clamps -- good idea?
« Reply #1 on: 12 Feb 2013, 02:52 pm »
If Clearaudio offers the clamps then they must think clamps are a good idea. Try it and report back!

Paul

simoon

« Reply #2 on: 13 Feb 2013, 01:11 am »
I would definitely use one if your TT manufacturer recommends them.

I use one currently, and I have noticed a positive difference every time I've used on in the past.

Delta Wave

« Reply #3 on: 13 Feb 2013, 03:08 am »
The J.A. Michell clamps are very nice and can be had for less than $50 on fleabay.

BobM

« Reply #4 on: 13 Feb 2013, 05:05 pm »
Need one for any VPI table. Helps a lot there.

simoon

« Reply #6 on: 13 Feb 2013, 06:28 pm »
Has anyone used this?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/LP-Record-Clamp-Audio-Disc-Stabilizer-Turntable-/321053329829?pt=US_Record_Players_Home_Turntables&hash=item4ac04509a5

There are quite a few inexpensive record weights (not clamps) from China on Ebay. I can't see any reason why they wouldn't be decent and effective products.

That being said, these are weights, not clamps, so they probably can't be used on suspended tables.

usp1

« Reply #7 on: 13 Feb 2013, 06:49 pm »
There are quite a few inexpensive record weights (not clamps) from China on Ebay. I can't see any reason why they wouldn't be decent and effective products.

That being said, these are weights, not clamps, so they probably can't be used on suspended tables.