Broth - the foundation for cooking

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
Broth - the foundation for cooking
« on: 2 May 2012, 04:01 am »
I've posted a bit before on the awesomeness of broth.  But I am surprised it doesn't have it's own topic yet.  I started out as just a guy that put some bullion cubes into some water and made whatever I need from that.  Then I graduated to the 1 quart organic broths like from Pacific.  A big step up.  But not cheap. 

I wondered how bone broth is made and stumbled across a lot of info on the internet, most of which pointed me to "Nourishing Tradition" by Sally Fallon.  So I bought a copy.  Turns out making broth myself is both dead easy and super cheap (both things I like).  Following the recipe in the book I started right away.  And I gotta tell you, the improvements to any dish requiring broth of any kind were immediate and substantial.  Cheaper, easier, and better?  What's not to like??????

Anyway, I've made bone broth a few times and I have learned a few lessons.  I thought I'd pass them on.

1st, buy some bones.  Neck bones or oxtail are the best, but really any beef bones will work. 

2nd, put them in the oven at 375 for an hour.  Roasting the bones like this darkens the stock and brings out more flavor.

Next, fill your pot with water (filtered, preferably), and about a fourth of a cup of vinegar.  Toss the bones in.  Bring to a boil. Immediately reduce the heat to low and cover.

Simmer for 12 to 18 hours.  You are almost done now.  Toss in some peppercorns and some veggie scraps (like onions, carrots, and celery).  Salt if you fee like it.  Maybe a bit of red wine (no more than 1/4th of a cup).  Let it simmer for another 2 or 3 hours. 

Now you are done.  Simply strain out the bones, scraps and peppercorns and you have a very nice broth to use. 

It takes time, but the end results are worth it - my chili and my beef beef bourguignon have taken a massive step up in flavor, as has beef stew and Pho.