Looking for Headphone Recommendation

johzel

Looking for Headphone Recommendation
« on: 4 Feb 2012, 03:16 pm »
Greetings.  I'd like to venture into the headphone world.  I'll be using the phones with my Peachtree Decco2.  The specifications for the Decco2 headphone amp:  Maximum output power: 100mW into 8 Ohm / 300mW into 150 Ohm / 150mW into 300 Ohm.

I'd like to purchase headphones of the planar variety.  Hifiman, Audeze?  I understand they tend to be power hungry and wonder if my Peachtree will handle their power needs.  I thought I might just "start" with the new HE-400's which I believe are fairly efficient?  Are there others that might be a good recommendation for the Peachtree?  Budget?  Well, as a first effort I'm thinking $500ish - give or take.

Many thanks.

Audioclyde

Re: Looking for Headphone Recommendation
« Reply #1 on: 4 Feb 2012, 04:08 pm »
I'm new to serious headphone listening, but I'm loving my Audeze LCD-2's. I have ran them straight from an IPod and it was definitely listenable, so they are more efficient than I suspected.

That being said, when I power them with my portable ALO Continental Mk II amp, we are talking great sound.  And for another step up, powered by my Leben CS300 integrated, the sound is just to die for IMHO!

I'm not familiar with your Peachtree, but I suspect the folks at Audeze would be quite helpful. Their customer service when I was auditioning headphones was second to none.

Best,

Randy

slwiser

« Reply #2 on: 4 Feb 2012, 04:33 pm »
Based on reviews and your goals check out Moon Audio with their pricing on the HiFiMan HE-500.  I know it is a little over your budget but the HE-500 is considered world class by many.  World Class being having no compromised sound quality just different.

johzel

« Reply #3 on: 4 Feb 2012, 05:00 pm »