Another new tube amp guy...

Martyn

Another new tube amp guy...
« on: 19 Jan 2012, 09:50 pm »
....but with somewhat different needs.

Hi, folks.

The last time I had anything with tubes in it was when I was a student and we had to scrounge abandoned TV sets and fiddle with the tubes to get them going again. It was a long time ago! Since then, I've always been a solid-state guy, but recently I've started being drawn to tube amps. I'd like to give one a try, but I tend to have champagne tastes and a beer budget so DIY is probably the way to go. I'm assuming that there are some DIY guys in this circle...

I know nothing whatsoever about the different kinds of tube amps, other than that SET amps sound great but don't have much power, and push-pull amps have power and dynamics, but don't sound quite as good as SETs. My speakers are around 90 or 91 dB efficiency, so I think I need quite a lot of power relatively speaking. Also, I'm looking for an amp with two inputs and a volume control, so I guess that makes it an integrated amp. I found the Decware site and was strongly attracted by the Torii MkIII, but it's not available as a kit and is $3k plus options fully built, which is is outside my budget. All his other designs are quite low power.

So here's my question: is there a tube amp design that will meet my needs (including the champagne tastes) and can be built for, say, under $1k. I would go higher if you tell me I have to for a world-beating design, but let's draw the line there for the moment. I'm not an EE and V=IR is about my limit, but I am an ME and can follow instructions (if they're not ambiguous and have pictures) and can deal with any woodwork and metalwork. I can solder and am just about smart enough to survive being around high voltages.

So what can I build that will have adequate power and wonderful sound for ~$1k?

Thanks in advance...

Martyn

JoshK

Re: Another new tube amp guy...
« Reply #1 on: 20 Jan 2012, 03:16 am »