My experience with room correction

Carlman

« on: 1 Aug 2005, 03:18 am »
I'm a complete novice to digital room correction.  I'd seen it in action 3 times before 'getting it'.  The first time it was just so far over my head I couldn't even process the description.

Anyway, I've come to learn what it is, what it can do, and how I can customize it for my tastes.  All of my experience has been with TacT gear.  If you think this stuff is daunting, it is and you're not alone.  However, like deciding to use a PC for a source, using digital room correction (DRC) has also been a rewarding challenge.  

The challenge with DRC was far greater for me than an audio PC because to me, building a PC is very easy.  Getting room correction to work well for me has involved learning what the specs of my speakers mean, a little about acoustics, and the instructions from my dealer, Hometheaterdoc/Shane.  (I can't begin to express how much I've appreciated his generous-ness in lending and instructing me on this TacT gear.)

I wrote a PM to LonewolfNY42 earlier today because I thought it was very important for him to try this stuff.  I don't often go out on a limb and recommend something to someone out of the blue.  Here's what I wrote (with a few edits):

..... (about the Nuforce ampflifiers I recently tried)... To me, they sounded warm and buttery WITH digital room correction (also known as DRC) provided by the TacT preamp I'm demo'ing. Without the DRC, I found them lacking in some ways, having a little bit darker and sterile sound to them. But, I wouldn't call them dark and sterile, just that in comparison to having DRC enabled, they leaned in that direction.