W4S Amp Sonics: ASC vs. ASP vs. ASX ICE Power modules & WFS tweaks

mike_p

• You Never Blow Your Trip Forever
Newbie here. My very first post. Here goes. I'll be getting W4S amplification for my Emerald Physics 2.3's, along with Spatial Computer software and the entry-level multi-channel TC Studio Konnect 48 firewire DAC/audio interface. Walter Liederman & Clayton Shaw like tri-amping these speakers, and they ought to know. My short-term issue is cost. 

I can afford to tri-amplify now only if I use one of the W4S multi-channel amps. The full-size MC amps use the ASP power modules. I spoke with Clint at W4s yesterday, and asked whether the circuit topology for the boards in the MC (250X6) units is identical to those used in the SX and ST 500 amps. Clint checked with EJ, and no, the front-end tweaks that they do on the SX and ST circuits aren't present on the MC units, due to space limitations. So, first question, has anyone A/B'ed the SX or ST 500 or 1000 amps against their similarly-powered MC counterparts? If so, what are the audible sonic differences betwen those amps in your system?

Next, a couple of EJ Sarmento's posts on the "Official" Wyred 4 Sound thread in AVS Forum in the company's earlier stages of product development and marketing indicated that he experienced a difference in the sonics of the ASC module used in the ST/SX 250 amp vis-a-vis the ASP modules used in the 500 and 1000 series amps, i.e., he thought the ASC module and the 250 series amps had better sonics in the mids and highs. In fact, the product description on the W4S website calls the 250 their 'most detailed' amplifier. I haven't been able to listen to these amps. Has anyone compared the sonics of the 250 with the 500 or 1000, and if so, can you please describe the differences?  Thanks.