Will upgrading capacitors in Cornet 2 really make a noticeable difference?

jdawg

I have been using my Cornet 2 for 4 months now and it sounds really good even though I don't really hear any difference between this and the phono section of my NAD C160 preamp.  I know that the capacitors can be upgraded with Auricaps and someone also recommended I can get a bigger improvement if I use these capacitors:

C208 - Mundorf Silver/Oil bypassed with .1 uF Russian Teflon FT-3
C206/200 - Sonicap Gen 1
C203 - Sonicap Platinum
C202 - Sonicap Gen 1
C204 - Sonicap Gen 1

I am a bit skeptical that spending lots of money on capacitors will make a noticeable improvement in sound.  So for those of you that have upgraded capacitors did it really make the Cornet sound better? 

GRD

Unfortunately, yes.  I started with the auricaps on C208 and upgraded to PIO.  And upgraded the other caps.  And it does make a difference.  Subtle, but it's there.  If you listen critically and your system is good, there will be an improvement.   

schubert

• I'm the one on the right
By all means yes, a thousand times yes - and maybe not where you think.  Based on some posts at other forums I recently replaced my run-of-the-mill caps at C106, C209 & C210 with Elna Tonerex (they don't fit very well, but c'est la vie), C103 and C201 with JJ, and C207 with Panasonic ED (no particular reason for this - I meant to do all JJ or ED but ordered the wrong quantities).  The JJ are a pain because they're snap mount, but the pins can be filed down so they fit.  And holy smoking capacitors, Batman - the unit sounds like a million bucks!  Of course it sounded good before as well, but now it's amazing.  Maybe I'm making this up - what with the shaky and unreliable nature of aural memory & all - but everything I throw on the turntable now sounds incredible.  As for the rest of the caps, they're Obbligato Gold Premium, bypassed at C208 with FT-3's.  Now if I can just get rid of the hum........

machine