Mini Review: Behringer CX2310 electronic crossover on the RM30

Russtafarian

• Typical reaction to the music I play
I’ve been experimenting with bi-amping my RM30s for the past three years.  In short, it’s worth doing.  It unleashes the speaker in ways that are truly startling. I removed all the internal crossover parts except the tweeter crossover and potentiometer.  The midpanels (without the TRT cap/coil HPF and potentiometer) and tweeters are driven directly by tube amps with only a 300 hz line level 1st order HPF on the amp input.  This produces truly amazing transparency that has to be heard to be believed.  Plus removing the bass coil and electronically crossing over the woofers really uncorks the dynamic capability of the speaker. 

I started out with the Behringer DCX2496 that Brian uses for the Digital version of the RM30.  While it is incredibly flexible, I could never get it to sound right to my ears.  The DCX gave me the filet mignon in, hamburger out sound that I hear with virtually every DSP I’ve used (within my realm of affordability).  I did hear the Cullen modified DCX on the RM30s at THE Show Newport and that sounded pretty good.  But I think the modded DCX goes for close to $2k, which is above my price point.

Another potential XO contender is the MiniDSP.  It’ very reasonably priced (around $150 for 2way XO and $350 for 4way XO) and I really like the USB PC interface that allows me to adjust XO slope, frequency, phase plus parametric filters in real time on a PC.  I experimented with this unit for a few months and it has lots of potential, but again, filet mignon in, hamburger out.  I also briefly tried the DBX Driverack PA and that sounded absolutely disastrous.