Wall Mounted Type AC

django11

• Canuckistani
Wall Mounted Type AC
« on: 9 Jun 2011, 09:57 pm »
I'm slowly in the process of installing a fixed ac unit.  Something like this:

Presently I am just using a big old window unit. 12000 btu if memory serves.  They are quite cheap and don't cost much to maintain ( actually I have never spent a cent on one) but it is pretty heavy and noisy and I certainly foresee a time when I won't be able to muscle it into place (it is in a window at the top of a staircase :o).  I think I know the pros of the pictured units.  What are the cons?

thunderbrick

• Volunteer
  • I'm just not right!
Re: Wall Mounted Type AC
« Reply #1 on: 10 Jun 2011, 12:22 am »
I have nearly 9 years experience with a Mitsubishi "Mr. Slim" on a special project home, and was responsible for maintaining  it.  I remember one service call, one clogged drain pipe, and having to clean mildew out of it after about 7 years.  If I had the cash I'd buy one right now for my home, but I have bigger AC issues right now.

Quiet, effective, dependable.  And easy to work on.

django11

• Canuckistani
« Reply #2 on: 10 Jun 2011, 07:11 pm »
I've been doing a little research.  Expensive install...

TomS

« Reply #3 on: 10 Jun 2011, 08:01 pm »
I've been doing a little research.  Expensive install...
I've been looking at these mini split type units for my daughter's 1 story bungalow style home in Atlanta. She also has window units which are a real pain and they've actually had a couple stolen out of the windows for scrap  :o