Do musicians favor tube or solid state stereo equipment?

eclein

• Facilitator
  • ..we walk the plank with our eyes wide open!-Gotye
Ever since I started putting pieces of tubed equipment (1st was Tube DAC)  into my system I seem to be enjoying music more. I recently put a little tube integrated amp into play and the dynamics of the music for me just come to the forefront more. It sounds like I'm listening deeper into the music and I'm wondering if folks that use Solid State gear have the same listening experience?

If you play an instrument for even a short time in your life you hear music a little differently I believe. I know from drumming there is a whole side of playing drums that people who have never tried wouldn't remotely know about. As a drummer I need to move a stick a few inches to play a note or a few feet to play that same note depending on the sound I want, and it must be in time with the rest of the notes and the distance and pressure or force needed to create those notes doesn't matter because it just needs to sound good. The physics involved with playing your instrument and the physical aspect of playing any instrument doesn't enter in to average guys listening experience but it does to me and most likely you.
 When I hear some of these young guys lately playing drums I just shake my head in wonder, they are smooth, the tempo is rock solid, the transitions from these fills back to the main beat is flawless-you have no idea how hard it is to make it sound that easy and being able to hear more of the dynamics involved brings the experience closer for me, how about with you??? :thumb:

AVnerdguy

Re: Do musicians favor tube or solid state stereo equipment?
« Reply #1 on: 13 May 2011, 06:12 pm »
Both! And I own both. When I was gigging I used tubes and SS. Both have their own distinct sound which I used as required.