JohnR

Fasting?
« on: 9 May 2011, 02:03 pm »
Has anyone had personal experience?

datman

Re: Fasting?
« Reply #1 on: 9 May 2011, 02:09 pm »
A little more information is needed.

What kind of fast are you thinking about?  Juice, protein replacement (no food just protein suppliments.) Short, long. 

What is the purpose of this fast?

JohnR

« Reply #2 on: 9 May 2011, 02:16 pm »
Hi datman, in all honesty I didn't really have a very well defined purpose, but it is something that I have run across over the years and has come up a couple of times in recent conversations. (Not online.) I'd be interested in learning more. I have little experience other than a couple of times doing something for charity.

bside123

« Reply #3 on: 9 May 2011, 02:17 pm »
Has anyone had personal experience?

Hi John:

I have about 40 years experience with regular fasting. If you would like to discuss it, please contact me by PM. Best regards, Din Dayemi

sts9fan

« Reply #4 on: 9 May 2011, 02:25 pm »
I think that short one day fasts can be good for you.  I also think these long juice or tea fast are not.  Just my $0.02

konut

• Came for the value, stayed for the drama
« Reply #5 on: 9 May 2011, 03:22 pm »
I have fasted (no solid food) for up to 28 days at different points in my life. Initially under the supervision of a naturopathic physician, then independently. I would not undertake fasting at this stage of my life though. Any specific questions?

charmerci

« Reply #6 on: 9 May 2011, 04:26 pm »
I have found that there really is no good inherent reason for fasting. The usual reason for fasting is to cleanse your system of all the toxins in your body. To me, what is better is just to stop putting junk into your body.

Having said that, I find that fasting is a good way to change your diet. By not eating for a day or two, you can then reintroduce only the foods that you'd like to eat. Or in my experience groups of foods.