Cornet Channels, Mismatched

Doc Jr 8156

« on: 2 Apr 2004, 04:08 pm »
Hello,
Can anyone help me regarding how to fix my Cornet.  The left channel is weaker than the right.  I tried changing tubes, changing interconnects, to no avail.  I narrowed it down to the left channel because when I switch ICs (output) my right speaker will then be the one weaker.  However, if I switched ICs in the input, no change.  I measured the voltage parameters according to the manual and both channels are fine.  Measured all continuity from RCA in to RCA out and they are all fine.  I even tried on removing my step-up transformer from the path but still the left channel of my Cornet is weaker than the right.  I also aligned my cartridge on my Teres 3x.  I swiched R and L tonearm RCAs, same problem.  Any ideas?  Thank you very much.

Grover

« Reply #1 on: 3 Apr 2004, 12:21 am »
I'm a relative newbie, and I always find this sort of thing difficult to figure out.  What I would do first is check to make sure that all the resistor values are proper.  The second thing I would do is to reheat all the solder joints going to each of the capacitors on the left side, and add a bit more solder to each.  Then try again and see if this made a difference.

hagtech

« Reply #2 on: 3 Apr 2004, 05:03 am »
A good trick here is to short together the inputs.  Cart will still work and both channels have same signal for sure.  Maybe you can trace gain of signal through each stage?  Then you'll narrow down which section that is different.

My guess is resistor or capacitor value.  Maybe in the EQ, because tube bias is ok.  Shifting the 3180us corner can have a large affect of gain.

jh :)

Doc Jr 8156

« Reply #3 on: 5 Apr 2004, 01:42 am »
Grover,