Need help making loudspeaker boxes in Brisbane!

fishball79

« on: 2 Apr 2004, 02:09 am »
Hi all,

I'm a student currently studying in QUT.  I am interested in trying out diy hifi, starting with a pair of bookshelf sized speakers first.  Have gotten loudspeaker parts already designed the crossover and enclosure.  Unfortunately I have yet to find any carpenters/cabinet makers willing  take up the task of cutting mdf to size w/ holes and rebating.  

Can suggestions, specific wood working co or advice?

Christof

« Reply #1 on: 2 Apr 2004, 02:45 am »
Chris

I don't know anyone in AU but as the owner of a custom wood shop in the States I would recommend you get some pieces of MDF, maybe half sheets or quarter sheets (something easy to handle) and just show up at a local cabinet shop.  If you call first they might say they are too busy but if you show up with $20-$30, the materials and a drawing of the cuts you want they should be willing to do it.  Tell them you'll leave it there and come back the next day.  Surely someone in the shop will make a few cuts for some quick cash.  

Peace
Christof

Malcolm Fear

« Reply #2 on: 2 Apr 2004, 04:10 am »
I use Mr Ply&Wood for cutting. They sell MDF snd ply. They will cut to a cutting list for about $10.00 a sheet. That gets your job half done.

Check them on the internet.

fishball79

« Reply #3 on: 2 Apr 2004, 08:44 am »
Wow!  Fast response!  Even from outside Australia!

I sent an email to Mr Ply, hopefully they'll answer soon so I can order stuff n spend the easter break assembling them up.

A cabinet maker did want my business but i had to wait 'a few weeks'.  I read in woodworking forum that Bunnings, a local warehouse hardware store no longer cuts MDF and the other few places cant cut accurate enough.