This week I ordered an 1801 kit

DavidS

« on: 27 Mar 2004, 11:07 pm »
This week I ordered an 1801 kit from David Ellis.  I am a classic lurker who researches others opinions endlessly before making this kind of decision, but rarely contribute.  I enjoy some of the articles I have read about diy experience with building kits or from scratch so thought it might be cool to post weekly here as I go through the process of building my speakers.

I guess also I hope to expand my level of support as I do this project - I am a toal novice at doing anything like this and don't have any buddies who can pop over to give me a hand.  Next best thing is internet buddies.  To be honest my expertise is about sports (want to fix your slice) or maybe about music - have rediscovered audio gear in the past year and a half after dabbling in the early 80's as a university student.  This whole project is pretty intimidating.  I see it breaking down as:

1.  build the boxes - I am a skilsaw carpenter at best.  Have built a deck, a bookshelf, and last year a garden shed from plans.  Never used a router ... my only attempt at something like furniture a garden bench was a disaster.  That said this task is the least intimidating for me.

2.  veneer and finish the speakers.  Never done this...have watched the This Old House guys finish wood though.

3.  build the crossover.  Tried to talk David Ellis into building me a crossover but he convinced me this would be a key part of the learning experience.  I guess so - worked as a part time electrician's assistant while in university - only thing I remember is that I nearly killed myself - 3 times.

4.  Wire and install drivers and crossover - more of the same.

5.  break in speakers and listen to music - now this I can do.

Now a bit more about me: