Newbee needs help - sealed or vented?

rosconey2000

« on: 22 Mar 2004, 03:10 am »
I am in the process of building a home theater and would appreciate advise on speaker options.

Background:  Although this is my first speaker project, I am a very skilled woodworker and have an MSEE.  My budget is $1000ish for components.  The HT room is 21ft deep (screen at front), 17ft wide, and 7.5ft high and will also serve as a play room for my 3 kids (most of the time). From an audio perspective the primary goal is surround sound with a distant second of dance music for parties.  Critical music appreciation will happen elsewhere. My kids seem most happy when hurling objects through the air or kicking soccer balls within the house.  For this reason, I am installing my projector and speakers in-wall.  Screen will be 12ft diagonal from acoustically transparent material. LCR speakers will be behind the screen with tweeters at seated ear height). Sub will be below the screen also built into the wall (possibly extending a bit into the room).  Surround L and R will be high on side walls and I am still debating on the value of adding rear wall surrounds.  Electronics are as yet unspecified but planning on 100W/ch.  The front wall will accommodate speaker enclosures that are 6” deep with side and rear walls of standard 3.5” depth.  Stud placement can be changed to give me any shape but depth is fixed as noted.  Enclosures will be ¾” MDF with appropriate bracing.  I am strongly leaning toward MTM configuration for LCR.

My Questions:

(a)   Should I base my design on the A/V-2 (vented) or the A/V-3S (sealed).  Just cannot decide if the bass extension is worth the hassle of working out a curved port (because of the limited depth).  Any guess at the A/V-3 lower 3dB point?
(b)   Should I recess the tweeters to align drivers and/or toe them inward?