Cart's and preamp's

Carlman

Cart's and preamp's
« on: 19 Mar 2004, 08:52 pm »
I'm getting an Ortofon cartridge because it was suggested to me over a Goldring 1012GX at Needledoctor when I bought my table.  (Pro-Ject RM4)

Now that I've told some of my friends, they scoff at the Ortofon as 'a nail' and that is no good.

I will try it however if it's not good, is a Denon DL-160 or Sumiko Blue Note's a good step up?

I'm very new to selecting a cartridge.  I guess it's like tubes.  I like it to sound like real music and not like it's trying to be anything more.  

Preamps:
I'm trying to narrow it down to the component but.. so far the Hagerman Bugle preamp isn't cutting it for me.  Right now I'm putting it in a case and using the recommended power supply to try to get a little more dynamics out of it.  However my guess is that'll be in the Trading Post in a couple of months.  I'll be comparing it to a Decware phono pre just to have some differences to check.

I'm looking for smooth, dynamic sound with all the musicality I can get.

So, can anyone help with some descriptions or comparisons of those cartridges?  Or something else that's just great in the 200 USD range?  

What's the normal cost of a good phono pre?  What are some things to look for?  

Sorry for all the newbie questions.  Hope someone can help.

-Carl

WEEZ

Cart's and preamp's
« Reply #1 on: 19 Mar 2004, 09:05 pm »
Carlman,

It might be out of your price range- but the wood body Grado carts. have that midrange magic.

WEEZ

Psychicanimal

Re: Cart's and preamp's
« Reply #2 on: 20 Mar 2004, 07:57 am »
Quote from: Carlman
Now that I've told some of my friends, they scoff at the Ortofon as 'a nail' and that is no good.

Test your friends:

Tell them you re going to sell the Project and buy a Technics 1200 and buy the KAB modifications.  If they "scoff" at the idea, that tells you how much they really know. :wink: