Creek - OBH-22 Remote Passive Preamp-anybody use this??

eclein

• Volunteer
  • ..we walk the plank with our eyes wide open!-Gotye
My little tube amp is a treat but only has one input, I'm using my Grant Tube DAC-09 as DAC/pre-amp and its fine but having two or more inputs and a remote would be very nice.... so I'm curious about this little guy, its got a remote--thats a good thing, and its passive, passive, passive.....

werd-if this is worng circle bounce my ass out of here....

eclein

• Volunteer
Re: Creek - OBH-22 Remote Passive Preamp-anybody use this??
« Reply #1 on: 23 Jan 2011, 11:51 am »
....this is a high tech volume attenuator....no gain, works with light sensing things, its got a remote!!!!   Nobody...... :duh:

konut

• Came for the value, stayed for the drama
« Reply #2 on: 23 Jan 2011, 02:13 pm »
I've been using its predicessor the OBH-12 for going on 15 years. As passive pres go its pretty much the least costly remote going. The original remote did not even last a year and the warranty replacement not much longer than that so I've been using a Harmony since. It does what it does with very little sonic signature of its own, no fuss or muss. Easy to hear the effect of cord changes in other parts of the system. As the Brits say, It works a treat!

timind

• permanent vacation
« Reply #3 on: 23 Jan 2011, 02:27 pm »
I also used the OBH-12 for a brief period. I was running it into a Portal Panache integrated that had no remote. I also heard no sonic impact with the Creek. In my case I did not own it long enough to have problems with the remote.

eclein

• Volunteer
« Reply #4 on: 23 Jan 2011, 03:57 pm »
Thanks guys!!! Remotes anymore are cheap but I'll keep that in mind, its just me here and I'm pretty careful with stuff. I'm trying to get as pure a signal as possible because this amp just sounds so good and with a clean signal its perfect for me here....I haven't even started rolling in any other tubes than the stock ones. Thanks again..

srb