Icon-2 Drive Mark and Daniel Minis?

bmichael

Icon-2 Drive Mark and Daniel Minis?
« on: 21 Jan 2011, 09:52 pm »
I just got an Icon-2 in the mail today (yay). I got it primarily because it combines DAC/headphone amp/amp (duh). As you may already infer, I'm pretty new at this audio stuff. I have my eye on getting a pair of Mark and Daniel Minis after reading 6moons on the line. According to 6moons' review of the Rubies, which are larger, the Icon-1 should drive them. But it seems like some people have a hard time driving the Rubies with an Icon.

The Minis are smaller. Here are the specs,

Nominal Impedance:    3-6 Ohms
Average Efficiency:       82.5 dB/2.83V/1m
Power Handling:             ≧ 60 Watts per channel

Can the Icon-2 drive these at a 'good' volume? If anyone has any idea, thanks very much.

bmichael

Re: Icon-2 Drive Mark and Daniel Minis?
« Reply #1 on: 25 Jan 2011, 05:45 pm »
A follow-up. Could someone please maybe lay out to me how the Icon-2 differs from the HDP? I just got a pair of HD650s, and I'm wondering if I should rather have bought an HDP rather than the Icon-2.

srb

« Reply #2 on: 25 Jan 2011, 06:32 pm »
Although the Ruby is larger than the Mini, they both have efficiencies of 82.5dB (one of the lower efficiency speakers you can find), therefore the power requirement for either would be the same.  Mark & Daniel recommends 60W/channel as a minimum.  The NuForce Icon-2 outputs 18W/ch @ 8 ohm and 24W/ch @ 4 ohm (both at 1% THD).  This does not sound like a really great match to me.

The Icon-2 is an integrated amplifier with a USB DAC and a headphone output.  The HDP is a higher quality USB DAC and headphone amplifier with preamp outputs only, and must be used with an external power amplifier to drive speakers.

Steve

ltr317

« Reply #3 on: 25 Jan 2011, 09:29 pm »