Advice on where to add WAF treatments

scp2

Advice on where to add WAF treatments
« on: 10 Jan 2011, 01:43 am »

I am a fairly newbie to hifi...and have been busy acquiring  gear.  By audiophile standards I am sure my room is really lacking in terms of being ideal. It is a combo living room/TV room/Listening room. I am ready to suggest to my wife we need some acoustics. She may have different thoughts so I need some help on where to start. The room is fairly large and open...22x16...with the whole right side open to our entryway. The ceilings are high 11'...but have wide crown moldings which may aide.

My room handled everything pretty well until I added a second amp. Now the base can get a little boomy on some songs. The room has a lot of furniture and accessories to help keep reflections in check. My thoughts are to start with some small base traps on the front wall corners. Next I thought some treatments behind my speakers.  Finaly a small bit of treatment on the back wall. These ideas are all wife permitting. Another idea is to add window treatments(curtains) on windows on left wall. My gear is all listed under my system. I have also included photos of my room.My main seating postion is on the couch

Any help or suggestions are appreciated.

Component listing

Digital Source Modwright Transporter with EML and Black Treasure tubes
Other Sources Duet Bolder analog modded(feeeding deck spkrs) Pioneer BDP051F(Bluray Player) 
Signal Processors Yamaha RXV-863 AVR
Preamp Joule Elextra La150 MKII SE
Power Amp 2 X Spectron Musician III with V-cap/Bybee running in bridged mono 
Speakers Von Schweikert VR-4 jr mk I
Subwoofer (1) Def Tech supercube II (used for HT)
Speaker Cables 2 pr Bryston SC-4 speaker cable biwired 
Interconnects Grover Huffman SX RCA
Power Cables Wyred4Sound(amp) Lessloss(pre) Black Sand Violet II(MWTP)
Headphones/Amp AKG K702
Racking HT cabinet...maple amp stands