The Optimus LX-8 mods...far as they can go?

TheChairGuy

« on: 8 Mar 2004, 08:12 pm »
Just when I thought there was no more to do with my LX-8's, there was, at least, one more thing to do.

My current backround on this project is as follows:

* Bought on ebay for $192.00 in June 2003.  Have always thought highly of the dipole Linaeum tweeter, and I'm a newbie to speaker projects.

* Parts Express Vinyl Damping sheets VE-1 (#268-035) inside and out(doesn't look too bad, as it has 'gator' appearance).  Sides and bottom only.

* Stuffed about 1/4 bag of Acousta-Stuf (bought from Parts Express #260-317) into each speaker cabinet.

* Purchase 18" High Mass Metal Stands from Parts Express (#240-747) and fill with sand.

At this point, barely $325.00 into the project, crappy crossover and all, these speakers are better than my Vandersteen 1C's (no slouch in the budget realm, either).  Vandy's are replaced in July.

Next, using the 4th order Linkwitz active crossover circuitry in the Norh MultiAmps, I bypass the crappy internal passive crossovers with the active ones (set at 2 Khz - best choice for 8" poly woofer).  Once done, the sound is as pleasant and dynamic as anything I've heard in a monitor under $1500.00.  In my limited listening experience, at least  :o

The next mods were, a huge thanks to Frank van Alstine for this one, Plast-i-Clay.   Bought at AllArtSupplies.com for the whopping price of $1.51 lb (+ shipping from MA); I buy $30.00 worth.    I cover all around the inside (especially the corners to create rounding) and bottom (for mass loading).  I also fully cover every inch of the outside of the stamped steel speaker basket.  I also mass loaded the bottom of the speaker cabinet (inside) with a few lbs. of sand, packed and sealed tight in a baggie.  This speaker started out life as a 15 lb. lightweight made of particleboard; now weighs nearly 30 lbs. each.